Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 17 of 26MK-677 (Ibutamoren) literatureJAMA · ObservationalTop journal2017

Chemical Composition and Labeling of Substances Marketed as Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators and Sold via the Internet.

Most products marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators contain unapproved drugs and are often inaccurately labeled, posing risks to consumers.

Read at JAMAAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the mk-677 (ibutamoren) corpus
1
Preclinical
20
Observational · this one
0
Open-label
3
Randomised
2
Reviews

Summary and findings

This study analyzed 44 products marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators to determine their chemical composition and labeling accuracy. It found that only 52% contained one or more selective androgen receptor modulators, while many products contained unapproved substances. The analysis revealed significant discrepancies between labeled and actual ingredient amounts in these products.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.80). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
52% of products contained 1 or more selective androgen receptor modulators.2017

Abstract

The authors’ words, as JAMA supplied them

<h4>Importance</h4>Recent reports have described the increasing use of nonsteroidal selective androgen receptor modulators, which have not been approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), to enhance appearance and performance. The composition and purity of such products is not known.<h4>Objective</h4>To determine the chemical identity and the amounts of ingredients in dietary supplements and products marketed and sold through the internet as selective androgen receptor modulators and compare the analyzed contents with product labels.<h4>Design and setting</h4>Web-based searches were performed from February 18, 2016, to March 25, 2016, using the Google search engine on the Chrome and Internet Explorer web browsers to identify suppliers selling selective androgen receptor modulators. The products were purchased and the identities of the compounds and their amounts were determined from April to August 2016 using chain-of-custody and World Anti-Doping Association-approved analytical procedures. Analytical findings were compared against the label information.<h4>Exposures</h4>Products marketed and sold as selective androgen receptor modulators.<h4>Main outcomes and measures</h4>Chemical identities and the amount of ingredients in each product marketed and sold as selective androgen receptor modulators.<h4>Results</h4>Among 44 products marketed and sold as selective androgen receptor modulators, only 23 (52%) contained 1 or more selective androgen receptor modulators (Ostarine, LGD-4033, or Andarine). An additional 17 products (39%) contained another unapproved drug, including the growth hormone secretagogue ibutamoren, the peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor-δ agonist GW501516, and the Rev-ErbA agonist SR9009. Of the 44 tested products, no active compound was detected in 4 (9%) and substances not listed on the label were contained in 11 (25%). In only 18 of the 44 products (41%), the amount of active compound in the product matched that listed on the label. The amount of the compounds listed on the label differed substantially from that found by analysis in 26 of 44 products (59%).<h4>Conclusions and relevance</h4>In this limited investigation involving chemical analyses of 44 products marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators and sold via the internet, most products contained unapproved drugs and substances. Only 52% contained selective androgen receptor modulators and many were inaccurately labeled.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the MK-677 (Ibutamoren) corpus

BPolicy and practice recommendations for residential addiction treatment: a qualitative investigation on increasing equity in treatment for Black patients.Addiction science & clinical practice · 2026HumanCRole of endothelial Dlc1 in embryonic vascular development and adult bone marrow hematopoiesis.Leukemia · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.AnimalBThe Use of Bone Void Fillers May Not Impact Outcomes After Medial Opening Wedge High Tibial Osteotomy: A Systematic Review.Arthroscopy, sports medicine, and rehabilitation · 2023 · n=1640 · Not reported in abstract.reviewBWhen Size Goes Inside: Visceromegaly in Bodybuilders Is Not Attributed to High-Protein Intake but More Likely Associated with the Use of Appearance- and Performance-Enhancing Drugs.Medicine and science in sports and exercise · 2023 · n=45 · Total lean BM: BB-USE 87.8 ± 8.0 kg, BB-NAT 72.7 ± 6.4 kg, CON 62.8 ± 4.8 kg, P < 0.001.HumanBDiffusion kurtosis imaging (gen)omics unravels mechanisms of cerebral small vessel diseasebiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.HumanBPredominantly genetic, intrauterine, and lifestyle aetiologies of type 2 diabetes are associated with distinct clinical presentations and risk of complications: a Danish cross-sectional and follow-up study.EClinicalMedicine · 2026 · The 10-year risk of major adverse cardiovascular events was 14.8% for intrauterine aetiology.Human