Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub

MK-677 (Ibutamoren) record · updated 18h ago

Muscle & body compMetabolic & appetiteGrade A · human clinicalResearch use only
All 26 studiesJump to the evidenceCompare
What is MK-677 (Ibutamoren) used for?

MK-677, also known as Ibutamoren, is a growth hormone secretagogue that has garnered attention for its potential effects on muscle mass and body composition. Research is ongoing to better understand its mechanisms and applications in various contexts, including its detection in biological samples.

How it works: Oral ghrelin-receptor agonist (GH secretagogue)

Primarily researched for · Muscle & body compRoute · Oral

Development stage

where MK-677 (Ibutamoren) sits between preclinical work and regulatory approval
  1. 1Current
    Preclinical
    Animal / in-vitro work
  2. 2Not reached
    Phase 1
    Safety in humans
  3. 3Not reached
    Phase 2
    Efficacy signal
  4. 4Not reached
    Phase 3
    Confirmatory trials
  5. 5Not reached
    Approved
    Cleared by a regulator

Stage is inferred from the highest trial phase in the indexed corpus and 8 registered trials. It describes the research record, not a recommendation.

Identity
NameMK-677 (Ibutamoren)
Chain length—
Molecular weight624.8 Da
FormulaC28H40N4O8S2
Structure typeNot established
ClassMuscle
Research levelLimited Research
Discovered byCurated master list · 2025

Mass and formula from PubChem CID 6450830. No verified residue count for this compound.

Pharmacology
MechanismOral ghrelin-receptor agonist (GH secretagogue)
RouteOral
Half-life~4–6 h
Time to peak—
DurationDaily dosing
Extraction confidence0.75
Effect profile · 0–5
These seven scores are generated by the Librarian — an autonomous agent running GPT-4o over the indexed studies, trials and label data for this compound. No human assigns them and no community vote moves them. Last recomputed Sep 7, 2026. How this works →
Research stats
Total studies26
Human / animal / cellular15 / 4 / 1
Highest trial phasePreclinical
Years covered2001–2026
Latest study1mo ago
Publication history
20012026
Research funding
—no NIH grants found
Safety signals
FAERS reportsnone recorded
Serious AEs in animal work—
Community reports—
Positive —Neutral —Negative —
Records

Study register

26 rows · newest 12 shownOpen in the library →
StudyTypeYearSummary depth
Policy and practice recommendations for residential addiction treatment: a qualitative investigation on increasing equity in treatment for Black patients.
TakeawayPolicy changes are needed to improve residential addiction treatment for Black patients, focusing on representation, training, and creating a supportive environment.
Human2026Full text read0.70
Role of endothelial Dlc1 in embryonic vascular development and adult bone marrow hematopoiesis.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Animal2026Full text read0.70
The Use of Bone Void Fillers May Not Impact Outcomes After Medial Opening Wedge High Tibial Osteotomy: A Systematic Review.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
review2023Full text read0.80
When Size Goes Inside: Visceromegaly in Bodybuilders Is Not Attributed to High-Protein Intake but More Likely Associated with the Use of Appearance- and Performance-Enhancing Drugs.
FindingTotal lean BM: BB-USE 87.8 ± 8.0 kg, BB-NAT 72.7 ± 6.4 kg, CON 62.8 ± 4.8 kg, P < 0.001.
Human2023Full text read0.80
Diffusion kurtosis imaging (gen)omics unravels mechanisms of cerebral small vessel disease
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Human2026Full text read0.80
Predominantly genetic, intrauterine, and lifestyle aetiologies of type 2 diabetes are associated with distinct clinical presentations and risk of complications: a Danish cross-sectional and follow-up study.
FindingThe 10-year risk of major adverse cardiovascular events was 14.8% for intrauterine aetiology.
Human2026Full text read0.90
Impact of anxiety and mood disorders on elective flow diversion for unruptured intracranial aneurysms: propensity score-matched analyses of two large databases.
Finding1.9% FD treatment rate for AMD patients vs 1.5% for controls, HR 1.23 (95% CI 1.10 to 1.37), p<0.001.
Human2026Full text read0.80
Effect of alendronate and MK-677 (a growth hormone secretagogue), individually and in combination, on markers of bone turnover and bone mineral density in postmenopausal osteoporotic women.
FindingMK-677 plus alendronate increased BMD at the femoral neck by 4.2% vs 2.5% for alendronate, P < 0.05.
Human2001Full text read0.85
Identification, characterization, and biological activity of specific receptors for natural (ghrelin) and synthetic growth hormone secretagogues and analogs in human breast carcinomas and cell lines.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
In vitro2001Full text read0.80
Chemical Composition and Labeling of Substances Marketed as Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators and Sold via the Internet.
Finding52% of products contained 1 or more selective androgen receptor modulators.
review2017Full text read0.80
Health impacts of takeaway management zones around schools in six different local authorities across England: a public health modelling study using PRIMEtime
Finding964 fewer cases of type II diabetes per 100,000 population for males in Manchester (95% UI: 1565, 870).
review2024Full text read0.70
Long-term follow-up of treatment comparisons in RECOVERY: a randomised, open-label, platform trial for patients hospitalised with COVID-19
Finding6-month mortality for dexamethasone (6mg daily) was 34.3% vs 44.4% in the invasive mechanical ventilation group (RR 0.68; 95% CI 0.55–0.85; p=0.0006)
Human2025Full text read0.90

What people are saying

anecdotal · not evidence

Unverified first-hand accounts from public forums. These are not studies: nobody checked what was taken, whether it was what the label said, or what else was going on. They count for nothing in the evidence grade above and are shown because a reader searching MK-677 (Ibutamoren) will meet them anyway, and meeting them next to a graded evidence base is better than meeting them alone.

Community collection has not run yet, so this is an empty shelf rather than a quiet one — nothing has been read, and no conclusion about how much MK-677 (Ibutamoren) is discussed should be drawn from it.