Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 24 of 26MK-677 (Ibutamoren) literatureArthroscopy, sports medicine, and rehabilitation · Review2023

The Use of Bone Void Fillers May Not Impact Outcomes After Medial Opening Wedge High Tibial Osteotomy: A Systematic Review.

The use of bone void fillers in medial opening wedge high tibial osteotomy does not appear to significantly impact surgical outcomes, especially when the gap size is less than 10 mm.

Read at Arthroscopy, sports medicine, and rehabilitationAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the mk-677 (ibutamoren) corpus
1
Preclinical
20
Observational
0
Open-label
3
Randomised
2
Reviews · this one

Summary and findings

This systematic review examined the impact of bone void fillers on outcomes after medial opening wedge high tibial osteotomy (OWHTO) in patients with gap sizes less than 10 mm. A total of 1640 knees were analyzed across 28 studies. The findings suggest that the use of bone void fillers does not significantly influence outcomes.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.80). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
Not reported in abstract.n=16402023

Abstract

The authors’ words, as Arthroscopy, sports medicine, and rehabilitation supplied them

<h4>Purpose</h4>To examine whether the use of bone void filler significantly influences outcomes of medial opening wedge high tibial osteotomy (OWHTO), with a specific emphasis on gap sizes less than 10 mm.<h4>Methods</h4>A systematic review of the literature was performed according to Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis guidelines. Databases searched included PubMed, MedLine, EMBASE, and Web of Science. Studies were included if they met the following criteria: patients treated by OWHTO, clearly described surgical technique (including osteotomy gap size), filler type (synthetic, allograft, autograft), fixation type (locking versus nonlocking plate), type of plate (e.g., Tomofix, Puddu, Orthomed), and the degree of varus correction. The levels of evidence of the included studies ranged from Level I to Level IV according to the Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine classification. The studies must have also been reported in English, peer-reviewed, and originated in the United States or countries that offer the same procedures, protocol, and outcome reporting.<h4>Results</h4>Twenty-eight of 253 identified studies met inclusion criteria. A total of 1640 knees underwent OWHTO in the 28 studies: 598 (36.4%) had allograft, 488 (29.8%) had no bone void filler, 359 (21.9%) had synthetic, and 195 (11.9%) had autograft. Of the total patients, 963 (58.7%) were women and 676 (41.3%) were men. Different types of bone void fillers were used in each study, with no filler being most common (13/28), followed by allograft (12/28). Complications such as nonunion, loss of correction, infection, and lateral hinge fracture were reported across studies, although the overall rates were low in all groups. Most investigations described satisfactory healing regardless of whether a bone void filler was used. Several studies noted that outcomes in procedures performed without bone void filler, particularly when the osteotomy gap was less than 10 mm, were comparable to or slightly better than those in which a filler was used.<h4>Conclusions</h4>This study revealed that the utilization or absence of bone void filler does not impact the outcomes of OWHTO. In the setting of OWHTO with gap sizes less than 10 mm, placement of a bone void filler may contribute to higher complication rates. Despite the lack of functional advantage of using a bone void filler, OWHTO is still completed with bone void filler in more than 50% of cases.<h4>Level of evidence</h4>Level IV, systematic review of Level I to IV studies.

Background

The clinical question addressed by this paper is whether the use of bone void fillers affects outcomes in medial opening wedge high tibial osteotomy (OWHTO). Prior knowledge indicated that the choice of filler could potentially influence healing and complication rates. This study is significant as it systematically reviews existing literature to clarify the role of bone void fillers in this surgical context.

Methods

This systematic review followed Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis guidelines, analyzing studies from databases such as PubMed and EMBASE. Inclusion criteria required studies to involve patients treated by OWHTO with clearly described surgical techniques and filler types. The review included 28 studies with a total of 1640 knees analyzed.

Results

The review found that 36.4% of knees received allograft, 29.8% had no filler, 21.9% received synthetic fillers, and 11.9% had autograft. Complications were reported across studies, but overall rates were low. Healing outcomes were satisfactory regardless of filler use, and procedures without fillers showed comparable or slightly better outcomes.

Interpretation

These findings suggest that the use of bone void fillers may not provide a functional advantage in OWHTO, particularly in cases with smaller gap sizes. While the results are statistically significant, the clinical relevance may be limited given the low complication rates across all groups. Confounding factors include the variability in study designs and the inclusion of studies with different levels of evidence.

Key findings

  • 28 of 253 identified studies met inclusion criteria.
  • 1640 knees underwent OWHTO in the 28 studies: 598 (36.4%) had allograft, 488 (29.8%) had no bone void filler, 359 (21.9%) had synthetic, and 195 (11.9%) had autograft.
  • Most investigations described satisfactory healing regardless of whether a bone void filler was used.
  • Outcomes in procedures performed without bone void filler, particularly with osteotomy gap less than 10 mm, were comparable to or slightly better than those with filler.

Limitations

  • The review included studies with varying levels of evidence.
  • Not all studies reported complication rates for each filler type.
  • Some studies may have small sample sizes affecting generalizability.

Elsewhere in the MK-677 (Ibutamoren) corpus

BPolicy and practice recommendations for residential addiction treatment: a qualitative investigation on increasing equity in treatment for Black patients.Addiction science & clinical practice · 2026HumanCRole of endothelial Dlc1 in embryonic vascular development and adult bone marrow hematopoiesis.Leukemia · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.AnimalBWhen Size Goes Inside: Visceromegaly in Bodybuilders Is Not Attributed to High-Protein Intake but More Likely Associated with the Use of Appearance- and Performance-Enhancing Drugs.Medicine and science in sports and exercise · 2023 · n=45 · Total lean BM: BB-USE 87.8 ± 8.0 kg, BB-NAT 72.7 ± 6.4 kg, CON 62.8 ± 4.8 kg, P < 0.001.HumanBDiffusion kurtosis imaging (gen)omics unravels mechanisms of cerebral small vessel diseasebiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.HumanBPredominantly genetic, intrauterine, and lifestyle aetiologies of type 2 diabetes are associated with distinct clinical presentations and risk of complications: a Danish cross-sectional and follow-up study.EClinicalMedicine · 2026 · The 10-year risk of major adverse cardiovascular events was 14.8% for intrauterine aetiology.HumanBImpact of anxiety and mood disorders on elective flow diversion for unruptured intracranial aneurysms: propensity score-matched analyses of two large databases.Journal of neurointerventional surgery · 2026 · 1.9% FD treatment rate for AMD patients vs 1.5% for controls, HR 1.23 (95% CI 1.10 to 1.37), p<0.001.Human