Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 3 of 26HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) literatureeuropepmc · RCT2026

Human menopausal gonadotrophin in a pre-filled injection pen is non-inferior to the US-approved powder formulation.

The HP-HMG pen formulation demonstrated non-inferiority to the powder formulation in terms of fertilized oocytes, but the clinical significance of the differences observed should be interpreted with caution.

Read at europepmcAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the hmg (human menopausal gonadotropin) corpus
1
Preclinical
19
Observational
0
Open-label
3
Randomised · this one
3
Reviews

Summary and findings

This study evaluated the non-inferiority of highly purified human menopausal gonadotrophin (HP-HMG) in a pre-filled injection pen compared to the US-approved powder formulation in women undergoing ovarian stimulation. The primary endpoint was the number of fertilized oocytes, with a starting dose of 225 IU for the first 5 days. The results indicated non-inferiority of the pen formulation.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.90). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
Mean number of fertilized 2PN oocytes: 8.2 ± 5.5 (pen) vs 6.6 ± 4.3 (powder), adjusted treatment difference: 1.50, 95% CI 0.57 to 2.42.2026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as europepmc supplied them

Research question Is non-inferiority demonstrated for highly purified human menopausal gonadotrophin (HP-HMG) in an injection pen versus the US approved HP-HMG powder formulation for number of fertilized oocytes in women undergoing ovarian stimulation? Design Randomised, double-blind, double-dummy, parallel group, multicentre, non-inferiority trial at 19 US reproductive medicine centres enrolling 401 women ages 18‒42 years, randomised 1:1 to HP-HMG pen or HP-HMG powder. After downregulation in a gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonist (GnRHa) cycle, ovaries were stimulated with HP-HMG pen or HP-HMG powder at a starting dose of 225 IU for the first 5 days, with subsequent dose adjustments as needed. The number of fertilized (two pronuclei [2PN]) oocytes 19 ± 2 h after insemination was the primary end point. Results The primary end point was met, and HP-HMG pen was non-inferior to HP-HMG powder, with the mean ± SD number of fertilized 2PN oocytes 8.2 ± 5.5 and 6.6 ± 4.3, respectively (adjusted treatment difference: 1.50, 95% CI 0.57 to 2.42). The number of oocytes retrieved was 14.3 ± 8.1 with HP-HMG pen and 11.4 ± 6.3 with HP-HMG powder. The mean number of blastocysts was 4.8 ± 3.8 in the HP-HMG pen group and 3.9 ± 3.0 in the HP-HMG powder group. The ongoing pregnancy rate per started stimulation cycle was 45.0% in the HP-HMG pen group and 42.7% in the HP-HMG powder group and the live birth rate was 44.1% and 42.2% after fresh transfer, respectively. The incidence of early ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome was 3.5% in both groups. Conclusions HP-HMG as a solution for injection in a pre-filled injection pen is an effective and safe alternative to the approved powder formulation.

Background

The paper addresses the clinical question of whether a pre-filled injection pen formulation of Human Menopausal Gonadotropin (HMG) is as effective as the traditional powder formulation. Previous studies have established the efficacy of HMG in fertility treatments, but the convenience of a pre-filled pen may improve patient adherence. This study is significant as it explores a potentially more user-friendly option for administering HMG.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Key findings

  • Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

  • Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) corpus

Csox17 Mutagenesis Reveals Compounding Effects ofMaternal and Zygotic Contribution on Microglia Abundance.Glia · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.AnimalBReal-world utilization of gonadotropins and the associated cumulative live birth rates in the United States: a retrospective claims database analysis.Journal of medical economics · 2026 · n=14174 · Adjusted odds of live birth were 1.31 (95% CI: 1.20-1.45) for mixed protocol compared to follitropin alfa.reviewCMetabolomics-based screening identifies Aspergillus strains that accumulate bioactive leucine catabolites and fatty acid ethyl esters in koji mold-ripened cheese.Food research international (Ottawa, Ont.) · 2026 · R > 0.975 correlation between production quantity of HMB, HMG, α-ketoisocaproic acid, and isovaleric acid with initial concentration of l-leucine.In vitroBIs there a difference in ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome rates in freeze-all treatment cycles in high-risk patients treated with different GnRH agonist triggers?Human fertility (Cambridge, England) · 2026 · n=333 · 12-fold increased risk of severe OHSS with Triptorelin-MR compared to other preparations.HumanCA gut microbial odd-chain fatty acid alleviates atherosclerosis in mice.Nature · 2026AnimalBDelayed Argon Plasma Coagulation After Endoscopic Injection Sclerotherapy for Esophageal Varices Reduces Recurrence Risk.DEN open · 2026 · n=112 · 3-year variceal recurrence: 13.9% outpatient vs 28.0% inpatient, p=0.039Human