Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub

HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) record · updated 18h ago

Healing & recoveryMetabolic & appetiteGrade A · human clinicalResearch use only
All 22 studiesJump to the evidenceCompare
What is HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) used for?

HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) is a urine-derived injectable containing FSH and LH activity, used clinically to drive ovulation in IVF cycles and restore spermatogenesis in hypogonadotropic men.

How it works: FSH and LH receptor agonist

Primarily researched for · Healing & recoveryRoute · Subcutaneous injection

Development stage

where HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) sits between preclinical work and regulatory approval
  1. 1Cleared
    Preclinical
    Animal / in-vitro work
  2. 2Cleared
    Phase 1
    Safety in humans
  3. 3Cleared
    Phase 2
    Efficacy signal
  4. 4Cleared
    Phase 3
    Confirmatory trials
  5. 5Current
    Approved
    Cleared by a regulator

Stage is inferred from the highest trial phase in the indexed corpus and 99 registered trials. It describes the research record, not a recommendation.

Identity
NameHMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin)
Chain length—
Molecular weight162.1 Da
FormulaC6H10O5
Structure typeSmall molecule
ClassHealing
Research levelFDA Approved
Discovered byCurated master list · 2026

Mass and formula from PubChem CID 1662. No verified residue count for this compound.

Pharmacology
MechanismFSH and LH receptor agonist
RouteSubcutaneous injection
Half-life—
Time to peak—
Duration—
Extraction confidence0.90
Effect profile · 0–5
These seven scores are generated by the Librarian — an autonomous agent running GPT-4o over the indexed studies, trials and label data for this compound. No human assigns them and no community vote moves them. Last recomputed Oct 10, 2026. How this works →
Research stats
Total studies22
Human / animal / cellular15 / 2 / 1
Highest trial phasePreclinical
Years covered2021–2026
Latest study7d ago
Publication history
20212026
Research funding
46 NIH projects · $15.5M awarded · through FY2018
Public grants naming this compound. Funding is interest, not evidence.
Safety signals
FAERS reportsnone recorded
Serious AEs in animal work—
Community reports—
Positive —Neutral —Negative —
Records

Study register

22 rows · newest 12 shownOpen in the library →
StudyTypeYearSummary depth
A gut microbial odd-chain fatty acid alleviates atherosclerosis in mice.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
Animal2026Title only0.10
Delayed Argon Plasma Coagulation After Endoscopic Injection Sclerotherapy for Esophageal Varices Reduces Recurrence Risk.
Finding3-year variceal recurrence: 13.9% outpatient vs 28.0% inpatient, p=0.039
Human2026Full text read0.80
Artificial intelligence models for automated and semiautomated analysis and interpretation of clinical electroencephalography.
TakeawayAI is advancing in EEG interpretation, potentially enhancing diagnostic capabilities and reducing expert workload, but further clinical validation is needed.
review2026Full text read0.80
Somatic Mosaic <i>AXIN2</i>-associated Colonic Polyposis Predominantly Involving the Proximal Colon: A Case Report.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Human2023Full text read0.80
Sex-specific reproductive and hormonal factors in relation to Alzheimer’s disease-related biomarkers: A Systematic Review
FindingNot reported in abstract.
review2026Full text read0.80
Comparison between the efficacy of short and long GnRH-a protocols as a clinical outcome for viable pregnancies in women undergoing IVF/ICSI Cycles.
FindingClinical pregnancy rates: LAP 33.12% vs SAP 28.23%, p=0.001.
Human2021Full text read0.80
Recombinant Follicular Stimulating Hormone Plus Recombinant Luteinizing Hormone Versus Human Menopausal Gonadotropins- Does the Source of LH Bioactivity Affect Ovarian Stimulation Outcome?
FindingMean number of mature oocytes retrieved: 10 ± 5.8 in rFSH+rLH vs 8.3 ± 4.6 in HP-hMG, p=0.01.
Human2021Full text read0.70
Using Letrozole Cotreatment With Progestin-Primed Ovarian Stimulation In Women With Polycystic Ovary Syndrome Treated For IVF
Finding42.22% implantation rate in letrozole group vs. 34.69% in control group, p<0.05
Human2021Full text read0.80
Evaluation of assisted reproductive technology treatment outcomes based on stimulation dosages and anti-Mullerian hormone levels
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Human2022Full text read0.70
Highly purified-hMG versus rFSH in ovarian hyperstimulation in women undergoing elective fertility preservation
FindingPeak estradiol level was significantly lower in the rFSH group (2547.18±1648.21 pg/mL) than in the hp-hMG group (3468.02±2497.69 pg/mL, P<0.001).
Human2023Full text read0.80
A FSH-secreting pituitary adenoma discovered after ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome: a case report, illustrating pitfalls in the interpretation of serum FSH levels
FindingEstradiol elevated at 737 pg/ml.
Human2024Full text read0.70
Erzhi Tiangui formula ameliorates ovarian aging by enhancing antioxidant defense via Nrf2/HO-1 signaling.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Animal2026Full text read0.70

What people are saying

anecdotal · not evidence

Unverified first-hand accounts from public forums. These are not studies: nobody checked what was taken, whether it was what the label said, or what else was going on. They count for nothing in the evidence grade above and are shown because a reader searching HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) will meet them anyway, and meeting them next to a graded evidence base is better than meeting them alone.

Community collection has not run yet, so this is an empty shelf rather than a quiet one — nothing has been read, and no conclusion about how much HMG (Human Menopausal Gonadotropin) is discussed should be drawn from it.