Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 37 of 45VIP (Vasoactive Intestinal Polypeptide) literatureNature medicineTop journal2026

Oral small-molecule GLP-1 receptor agonist safiglipron in early type 2 diabetes: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.

Not reported in abstract.

Read at Nature medicineAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the vip (vasoactive intestinal polypeptide) corpus
9
Preclinical
29
Observational
1
Open-label · this one
2
Randomised
4
Reviews

Summary and findings

Not reported in abstract.

How much of this paper we could read: title only (0.10). The feed gave us little more than the title, so our summary is thin. This says nothing about the study's quality — read the source. What this means →
2026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as Nature medicine supplied them

Safiglipron is an oral small-molecule glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist administered without fasting or dietary restrictions. We evaluated its efficacy and safety in OUTSTAND-1, a phase 3, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial at 46 sites in China. We randomized 284 adults with type 2 diabetes managed with diet and exercise alone (mean baseline HbA1c 7.95%, median diabetes duration 1.6 years, 33.1% women) to once-daily safiglipron 30 mg (n = 70), 60 mg (n = 70), 90 mg (n = 72) or placebo (n = 72) for 32 weeks, followed by a 20-week active-treatment extension. For the primary endpoint, placebo-adjusted treatment differences in HbA1c change from baseline to week 32 were -1.22% (95% CI, -1.53 to -0.91), -1.20% (95% CI, -1.52 to -0.89) and -1.45% (95% CI, -1.75 to -1.14) for 30 mg, 60 mg and 90 mg, respectively (all P < 0.0001; treatment policy estimand). Secondary outcomes showed HbA1c < 7.0% in 71.4-77.8% versus 25.0%, HbA1c ≤ 6.5% in 58.6-68.1% versus 16.7% and placebo-adjusted fasting plasma glucose differences of -1.58, -1.68 and -2.08 mmol l-1, respectively (all P < 0.0001). Body weight differences were modest (-0.65%, -2.23% and -3.56% versus placebo). Other secondary outcomes generally favored safiglipron for HbA1c < 5.7% attainment, postprandial glycemia, homeostatic model assessment of β cell function (HOMA-β), homeostatic model assessment of insulin resistance (HOMA-IR), disposition index and waist circumference, with less rescue therapy use. Insulin and C-peptide responses varied by dose, and changes in treatment satisfaction were limited. Gastrointestinal adverse events were most common and mostly mild or moderate. Adverse events led to treatment discontinuation in 1.4%, 2.9%, 6.9% and 0% of participants receiving safiglipron 30 mg, 60 mg, 90 mg and placebo, respectively. These findings support once-daily oral safiglipron as an effective treatment option for type 2 diabetes. ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT06672172 .

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the VIP (Vasoactive Intestinal Polypeptide) corpus

CLongitudinal Imaging in a Mouse Model of Focal Cortical Dysplasia Reveals Lesion Expansion and Loss of Pre-Discharge Neuronal Recruitmentbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.AnimalCCortex-wide imaging in naturally behaving mice with 1-gram wireless mesoscopes.Nature · 2026AnimalCCalcium-Binding Protein Expression Cannot Serve as a General Classifier for GABAergic Neurons in the Macaque Cortex.The Journal of neuroscience : the official journal of the Society for Neuroscience · 2026 · up to 50% of neurons expressing CBPs are likely not GABAergicAnimalCATR-FTIR spectral fingerprinting and Chemometric classification of Labisia pumila varieties with exploratory screening of herbal products.Spectrochimica acta. Part A, Molecular and biomolecular spectroscopy · 2026 · R²Y = 0.894, Q² = 0.894 for the final PLS-DA model.In vitroBIon Channels and Morphology Drive Widespread Resonance in Human Cortical Interneuronsbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.HumanDClinical update: Assessment and management of Helicobacter pylori infection.BMJ (Clinical research ed.) · 2026review