Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 18 of 32Orforglipron (LY-3502970) literatureThe lancet. Diabetes & endocrinology · Phase 3Top journal2026

Long-term safety of oral orforglipron in Japanese participants with type 2 diabetes (ACHIEVE-J): a multicentre, randomised, open-label, parallel-group phase 3 trial.

Not reported in abstract.

Read at The lancet. Diabetes & endocrinologyAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the orforglipron (ly-3502970) corpus
9
Preclinical
7
Observational
1
Open-label · this one
8
Randomised
7
Reviews

Summary and findings

Not reported in abstract.

How much of this paper we could read: title only (0.10). The feed gave us little more than the title, so our summary is thin. This says nothing about the study's quality — read the source. What this means →
Phase 32026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as The lancet. Diabetes & endocrinology supplied them

<h4>Background</h4>Orforglipron, an oral GLP-1 receptor agonist, requires further evaluation in east Asian populations with type 2 diabetes, given this group's distinct pathophysiological characteristics. This study aimed to assess orforglipron as add-on treatment to diet and exercise alone or to oral antihyperglycaemic medications in Japanese participants with type 2 diabetes.<h4>Methods</h4>This multicentre, randomised, open-label phase 3 study was conducted in 40 medical research centres and hospitals in Japan. Adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated glucose levels managing their condition with diet and exercise alone or with one or two oral antihyperglycaemic medications were assigned (1:1:1) via computer-generated random sequence to receive once-daily oral orforglipron (3 mg, 12 mg, or 36 mg). Randomisation was stratified by background therapy, baseline HbA<sub>1c</sub> (≤8·5% or >8·5%), and metformin use (yes vs no; applied only to α-glucosidase inhibitors, thiazolidinedione, and glinides). Investigators, participants, and site staff were not masked to treatment. The primary endpoint was safety for 52 weeks, assessed in all randomly assigned participants who received at least one dose of orforglipron. This study is registered with ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT06010004 (ACHIEVE-J).<h4>Findings</h4>Between Sept 28, 2023, and June 5, 2025, 450 participants were screened and 401 were randomly assigned to three groups (3 mg, n=132; 12 mg, n=135; and 36 mg, n=134). 352 (88%) completed study treatment. 339 participants (85%, 95% CI 80·7-87·8) had at least one treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE), more frequently in the 36-mg group (118 [88%, 95% CI 81·5-92·5]) than in the 3-mg (107 [81%, 73·5-86·8]) and 12-mg (114 [84%, 77·4-89·6]) groups. Most TEAEs were of mild (267 [67%, 61·8-71·0]) or moderate (63 [16%, 12·5-19·6]) severity. Discontinuations due to an adverse event occurred in 19 of 134 participants (14%, 95% CI 9·3-21·1) in the 36-mg group compared with seven of 132 (5%, 2·6-10·5) in the 3-mg group and 11 of 135 (8%, 4·6-14·0) in the 12-mg group. Across treatment groups, gastrointestinal symptoms were the most common TEAEs leading to study treatment discontinuation (3 mg: 5 [3·8%, 1·6-8·6]; 12 mg: 8 [5·9%, 3·0-11·3]; and 36 mg: 11 [8·2%, 4·7-14·1]). Level 2 (blood glucose <54 mg/dL) hypoglycaemia events occurred in three of 135 participants in the 12-mg group (2%, 0·8-6·3) and in three of 134 in the 36-mg group (2%, 0·8-6·4) groups. No level 3 (severe) hypoglycaemia events occurred. Outcomes were generally similar across background therapies.<h4>Interpretation</h4>Treatment with orforglipron in combination with diet and exercise alone or one or two oral antihyperglycaemic medications for 52 weeks demonstrated an acceptable safety profile in Japanese adults with type 2 diabetes.<h4>Funding</h4>Eli Lilly.<h4>Translation</h4>For the Japanese translation of the abstract see Supplementary Materials section.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the Orforglipron (LY-3502970) corpus

ACardiovascular safety of orforglipron versus insulin glargine in adults with type 2 diabetes at increased cardiovascular risk (ACHIEVE-4): a phase 3, event-driven, randomised, open-label, non-inferiority, active comparator trial.Lancet (London, England) · 2026 · HR 0.84; 95% CI 0.59-1.20; p<0.0001 for non-inferiority.HumanDEstablishing cardiovascular safety of the small-molecule GLP-1 receptor agonist orforglipron in type 2 diabetes.Lancet (London, England) · 2026—BOral Wegovy Is Associated with Greater Early Weight Loss Than Foundayo in Propensity Matched Adult GLP-1 Usersbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Mean weight change by 90 days was -3.1% with oral Wegovy (n=26) versus +0.4% with Foundayo (n=18), corresponding to a 3.55-percentage-point difference (95% CI, 1.02-6.08; P=0.007).HumanD<span data-teams="true">Efficacy and Safety of Oral Small-Molecule (Non-Peptide) GLP-1 Receptor Agonists in Type 2 Diabetes and Obesity: A Systematic Review of the Complete Orforglipron and Danuglipron Clinical Development Programsbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Pooled HbA1c reduction of −1.14 percentage points versus placebo (95% CI −1.25 to −1.02; I²=0%)reviewAOrforglipron: An Oral GLP-1 Receptor Agonist for Obesity Treatment.The Annals of pharmacotherapy · 2026 · mean 7.1% to 10.6% placebo-adjusted weight reduction with orforglipronreviewBGLP-1 receptor agonists and ocular safety- Pharmacokinetic insights into ischemic optic neuropathy and diabetic retinopathy risk: A review.Biomolecules & biomedicine · 2026 · Hazard ratios for NAION ranged from 1.29 to 7.64.review