Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 22 of 22Dulaglutide literatureDiabetes, obesity & metabolism · ObservationalHigh-impact journal2026

Postmarketing Safety Signals and Medication-Use Risks of GLP-1-Based Therapies in Diabetes and Obesity: A Multi-Source Pharmacovigilance and Regulatory Evidence-Mapping Study.

This study highlights various safety signals associated with GLP-1 receptor agonists, including dulaglutide, but does not establish incidence or causality from the reported events.

Read at Diabetes, obesity & metabolismAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the dulaglutide corpus
2
Preclinical
13
Observational · this one
0
Open-label
3
Randomised
4
Reviews

Summary and findings

This study analyzed postmarketing safety signals and medication-use risks associated with GLP-1 receptor agonists, including dulaglutide, using FDA Adverse Event Reporting System data from 2021Q1 to 2026Q1. A total of 243,114 GLP-1 primary-suspect case-product records were included, with dulaglutide accounting for 38,406 records. The study aimed to characterize adverse events and medication-use risks rather than establish incidence or causality.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.80). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
243,114 GLP-1 primary-suspect case-product records within 8,995,547 background reports.2026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as Diabetes, obesity & metabolism supplied them

<h4>Aims</h4>To characterise postmarketing safety signals and medication-use risks associated with GLP-1 receptor agonists and the GIP/GLP-1 co-agonist tirzepatide in diabetes and obesity care using an integrated pharmacovigilance, utilisation-context, regulatory, and external-consistency framework.<h4>Materials and methods</h4>FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) data from 2021Q1 through 2026Q1 were processed using deleted-case exclusion, latest-case-version retention, and case-product deduplication with analysis at the GLP-1 primary-suspect case-product level. Primary-suspect records for semaglutide, tirzepatide, dulaglutide, liraglutide, exenatide, and lixisenatide were analysed using reporting odds ratios, proportional reporting ratios, and an approximate Information Component. Medicaid utilisation data, FDA labelling/Safety-Related Labelling Changes resources, FDA shortage and compounded-product communications, and Canada Vigilance reports provided contextual interpretation; no data source was used to estimate incidence, comparative risk, or causality.<h4>Results</h4>The final FAERS analysis set included 243 114 GLP-1 primary-suspect case-product records within 8 995 547 background reports. Tirzepatide accounted for 133 100 records, followed by semaglutide (55619) and dulaglutide (38406). Frequently reported terms included incorrect dose administered, nausea, injection-site pain, diarrhoea, vomiting, off-label use, and extra dose administered. Prioritised domains included gastrointestinal intolerance, medication-use/device events, impaired gastric emptying, pancreatobiliary events, renal/dehydration events, and hypoglycaemia. Canada Vigilance and FDA labelling/SrLC mapping showed descriptive visibility for most major domains, while medication-use terms reflected use-process rather than conventional adverse-drug-reaction issues.<h4>Conclusions</h4>Multi-source pharmacovigilance can improve interpretation of GLP-1 postmarketing safety evidence in diabetes and obesity care. Findings should be interpreted as signal-prioritisation and medication-safety evidence, not as incidence, proof of causality, or population-level comparative risk, given the limited clinical interpretability of spontaneous-reporting data.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the Dulaglutide corpus

BTarget Trial of Semaglutide Versus Dulaglutide or Liraglutide in Patients Receiving Hemodialysis.Diabetes care · 2026 · sHR for mortality on dialysis 0.82 (95% CI 0.70-0.97; 1-year cumulative incidence 11% vs. 13%)HumanBImpact of GLP-1 Analogue Therapy on Gastrointestinal Outcomes in Patients with Irritable Bowel Syndrome: A Real-World TriNetX Analysis.Digestive diseases and sciences · 2026 · 8.9% chronic diarrhea vs 10.6% in non-GLP-1 group at 90 days, p<0.001.HumanBPrescription Sequence Symmetry Analysis of Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 Receptor Agonists and Neuropsychiatric Conditions.Clinical pharmacology and therapeutics · 2024 · n=2033 · GLP-1RA initiation inversely associated with antidepressants (aSR: 0.85; 95% CI: 0.76-0.94)HumanAEfficacy and Safety of Once-Weekly Semaglutide 2.0 mg as an Add-On to Dose-Reduced Insulin Glargine versus Dose-Titrated Insulin Glargine in People With Type 2 Diabetes and Overweight (SUSTAIN OPTIMIZE).Diabetes, obesity & metabolism · 2026 · n=573 · ETD for HbA1c reduction: -0.74%; CI95: -0.90, -0.59HumanBProjecting the Long-Term Cost-Effectiveness of Once-Weekly Insulin Icodec Versus Once-Daily Basal Insulin Analogs in Italy Using the Prime T2D Model.Diabetes, obesity & metabolism · 2026 · 0.16 QALYs gained with icodec versus glargine U100 and degludec.—BEfficacy and safety of SGLT2 inhibitors in elderly patients with type 2 diabetes.Annals of medicine · 2026 · n=9915 · HR 0.69 for 30% eGFR decline, 95% CI 0.59-0.80, p<0.001Human