Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 42 of 43NAD+ (Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide) literaturebiorxiv-preprint · Observational

Part 2 of a 2-part open-label clinical trial evaluating repeated nicotinamide riboside parenteral administration: 90 days of at-home subcutaneous injections

Participants tolerated self-administered nicotinamide riboside injections well, with some exploratory measures indicating potential metabolic health benefits.

Read at biorxiv-preprintAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the nad+ (nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide) corpus
18
Preclinical
19
Observational · this one
1
Open-label
1
Randomised
4
Reviews

Summary and findings

This study evaluated the safety and feasibility of repeated subcutaneous administration of nicotinamide riboside (NR) in participants over 90 days. Participants self-administered either 50 or 100 mg of NR three times weekly. The study reported no clear dose-dependent safety concerns and observed exploratory physiological effects.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.70). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
GlycoATP decreased at Day 30, p<0.05.

Abstract

The authors’ words, as biorxiv-preprint supplied them

Nicotinamide riboside (NR), a precursor to the essential coenzyme nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD+), has been extensively studied following oral administration, while the longer-term safety and physiological effects of injectable NR remain less characterized. Following an initial in-clinic phase evaluating repeat intramuscular (IM) and subcutaneous (SC) administration of pharmaceutical-grade NR, participants transitioned to an at-home phase designed to assess the safety, feasibility, and exploratory physiological effects of repeated self-administered SC administration. Participants continued their assigned 50 or 100 mg dose group and self-administered NR subcutaneously 3 times weekly for approximately 90 days. Safety was assessed through adverse event (AE) monitoring, vital signs, and clinical laboratory health measures. Exploratory assessments included markers of mitochondrial bioenergetics, urinary biomarkers of oxidative stress, and participant-reported outcomes related to fatigue, sleep, pain, and quality of life. At-home administration of NR was generally well-tolerated, with no clear dose-dependent safety concerns identified over the study period. Further, participants were able to successfully self-administer repeated SC injections over the study period, demonstrating positive feasibility. Whole-blood NAD+ concentrations remained largely stable over time in both dose groups. MeScreen analysis demonstrated a reduction in GlycoATP at Day 30 and increases in the MitoATP/GlycoATP ratio at Day 30 and Day 90, signifying a preferential shift toward oxidative metabolism. These findings may be indicative of positive metabolic health shifts. Urinary oxidative stress profiling demonstrated heterogeneous temporal responses. Several lipid oxidation markers significantly declined at Day 30 but returned toward baseline at Day 90. Select markers of nucleic acid, nitrative stress, and advanced glycation end-product oxidation demonstrated more sustained reductions. These results for which the majority of measured oxidative stress markers improved suggest that NR injections may exhibit anti-oxidative characteristics. Validated participant-reported sleep and fatigue measures showed improvements. Self-reported facial skin improvement increased descriptively from 11.4% at baseline to 27.8% at Day 30 and 36.8% at Day 90; improvements noticed by others increased from 9.1% to 23.7%, while reported body-skin improvement increased more modestly, from 8.8% to 16.7%. As these outcomes were not designed or powered to establish efficacy or definitive clinical claims, the findings should be considered hypothesis generating and provide preliminary data to inform the selection of outcomes and design considerations for future randomized, placebo-controlled, adequately powered trials of SC NR administration.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the NAD+ (Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide) corpus

BPart 1 of a 2-part, open-label clinical trial evaluating repeated nicotinamide riboside parenteral administration: 3 consecutive days of intramuscular and subcutaneous injectionsbiorxiv-preprint · 9.97% average daily increase in NAD+ for 100 mg IM.HumanDAn NAD(+)-responsive adipose signal coordinates inter-organ defense against muscle atrophy.Cell metabolism · 2026—BNicotinamide Riboside for Patients With Early-Stage Parkinson Disease: The NOPARK Randomized Clinical Trial.JAMA · 2026HumanCAdipose ILC2s depend on acetyl-CoA carboxylase 1 to maintain metabolic health.Cell metabolism · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.AnimalCLong-term NMN treatment increases lifespan and healthspan in mice in a sex dependent mannerbiorxiv-preprint · 2023 · 8.5% increase in median lifespan in female mice.AnimalCThe mitochondrial deacetylase SIRT3 is nonessential for cyclophilin D-dependent procoagulant platelet formation in mice.Platelets · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.Animal