Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 25 of 25Tirzepatide literaturebiorxiv-preprint · Observational

Dual GIP/GLP-1 Receptor Agonist Versus Selective GLP-1 Receptor Agonist in Patients Undergoing Primary Total Knee or Hip Arthroplasty

Tirzepatide may be associated with lower odds of mechanical complications and infections compared to semaglutide in patients undergoing major joint surgeries, but the clinical relevance of these findings should be considered cautiously.

Read at biorxiv-preprintAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the tirzepatide corpus
4
Preclinical
15
Observational · this one
1
Open-label
2
Randomised
3
Reviews

Summary and findings

This study compared post-operative outcomes in patients undergoing primary total knee or hip arthroplasty who were prescribed tirzepatide versus semaglutide. The analysis involved a retrospective cohort of 8,797 patients with at least two prescriptions for either medication. At two years, tirzepatide was associated with lower odds of mechanical complications and periprosthetic joint infection compared to semaglutide.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.80). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
At 2 years, tirzepatide exposure was associated with lower odds of mechanical complications (OR 0.64, 95% CI 0.42 to 0.96).

Abstract

The authors’ words, as biorxiv-preprint supplied them

<title>Abstract</title> <p>Purpose Tirzepatide is a dual glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP) and glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist, whereas semaglutide is selective for the GLP-1 receptor. We compared post-operative outcomes after primary total knee or hip arthroplasty (TKA/THA) between patients prescribed tirzepatide and those prescribed semaglutide. Methods A retrospective cohort study was performed using the TriNetX US Collaborative Network. Adults undergoing primary TKA or THA with at least two coded prescription fills for tirzepatide or semaglutide within six months of surgery were identified, and patients taking both agents were excluded. Cohorts were propensity score matched 1:1 (2,858 per group, all standardized differences below 0.05). Odds ratios (OR) with 95% confidence intervals (CI) were calculated at 90 days, 1 year, and 2 years. Results Of 669,698 patients who underwent primary TKA or THA, 8,797 (1.3%) had ≥ 2 tirzepatide or semaglutide prescriptions. At 90 days and 1 year, no surgical, medical, or implant-related outcome differed significantly. At 2 years, tirzepatide exposure was associated with lower odds of mechanical complications (OR 0.64, 95% CI 0.42 to 0.96) and periprosthetic joint infection (PJI) (OR 0.64, 95% CI 0.41 to 0.999; P = .048). Reoperation did not differ significantly (OR 0.68, 95% CI 0.43 to 1.08). Conclusion Tirzepatide and semaglutide prescriptions were associated with similar 90 day and 1 year outcomes, while tirzepatide was associated with lower 2-year mechanical complications and PJI. The distinction between dual GIP/GLP-1 agonism and selective GLP-1 agonism may therefore carry clinical relevance, and these agents should not be presumed equivalent.</p>

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the Tirzepatide corpus

CTirzepatide preserves hematopoietic stem and progenitor cycling while remodeling inflammatory monocytes in obese micebiorxiv-preprint · Not reported in abstract.AnimalDThe GLP-1 Nutritional Paradox: A Structured Review with Novel Quantitative Frameworks for Sarcopenic Risk and Micronutrient Adequacy in GLP-1 Receptor Agonist Pharmacotherapybiorxiv-preprint · Mean body-weight reduction of 20.9% with tirzepatide in phase 3 trials.reviewBWeight Loss With Microdose Tirzepatide: Real-World Outcomes in Patients Initiating Treatment Below 2.5 mg Weeklybiorxiv-preprint · Mean body-weight loss was 6.10% (95% CI 4.60-7.60; n=8) in the 60-89-day window at a median 65.5 days.HumanCA near-infrared light-triggered platform for on-demand drug release in bone repair.Colloids and surfaces. B, Biointerfaces · 2026 · Bacterial inhibition rate of 99%.In vitroDFrom adiposity to multisystem morbidity: the case for weight loss as disease modification.The lancet. Diabetes & endocrinology · 2026AInsights from a double-blind, randomized, direct-to-participant intervention trial for Long COVIDbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · 1,058 participants enrolled in 73 days.Human