Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 2 of 2PEG-MGF (Pegylated MGF) literatureLancet (London, England)Top journal2026

Robotic-arm-assisted versus conventional total knee replacement (RACER-Knee): a pragmatic, multicentre, participant-masked and assessor-masked, superiority, randomised controlled trial.

Not reported in abstract.

Read at Lancet (London, England)Add to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the peg-mgf (pegylated mgf) corpus
0
Preclinical
1
Observational
1
Open-label · this one
0
Randomised
0
Reviews

Summary and findings

Not reported in abstract.

How much of this paper we could read: title only (0.10). The feed gave us little more than the title, so our summary is thin. This says nothing about the study's quality — read the source. What this means →
2026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as Lancet (London, England) supplied them

<h4>Background</h4>Robotic systems are being increasingly used to assist with total knee replacement (TKR). Whether robotic systems improve outcomes after TKR is uncertain. We aimed to ascertain the clinical efficacy and cost-effectiveness of the Mako robotic-arm system compared with conventional instruments for TKR.<h4>Methods</h4>We conducted a participant-masked and assessor-masked pragmatic, superiority, randomised controlled trial at ten hospitals in Great Britain involving 33 surgeons. Patients with advanced knee osteoarthritis underwent TKR with conventional instruments (cTKR) or with the Mako robotic-arm-assisted system (rTKR). Key exclusion criteria were inflammatory arthropathy, previous fracture, or the need for complex implants. Participants were randomly assigned (1:1) through a remote computer system using minimisation by age, BMI, centre, surgeon, and primary knee compartment involved. Participants and assessors were masked through methods including using sham incisions, additional draping, and masked operation notes. The primary outcome was the Forgotten Joint Score (FJS) at 12 months after randomisation according to the intention-to-treat principle using a linear mixed-effects model. The prespecified target difference was 12 points. The trial is registered with ISRCTN (ISRCTN27624068), and long-term follow-up is ongoing.<h4>Findings</h4>Between Dec 21, 2021, and Dec 13, 2023, 807 patients were screened and 339 were randomly assigned: 168 to rTKR and 171 to cTKR. The median age was 68·8 years (IQR 61·3-75·2), 167 (49%) were female, and 172 (51%) were male. At 12 months, the mean FJS was 49·2 (SD 28·4; n=154) in the rTKR group and 50·2 (29·9; n=158) in the cTKR group. The adjusted mean difference was -1·5 (95% CI -7·5 to 4·5; p=0·62,) favouring cTKR. 16 participants in each group had one serious adverse event.<h4>Interpretation</h4>In this pragmatic trial, rTKR as delivered in routine practice was more costly than cTKR and did not provide a clinically meaningful patient benefit at 12 months after randomisation. The two groups had similar safety (ie, harms) profiles.<h4>Funding</h4>UK National Institute for Health and Care Research Health Technology Assessment Programme.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the PEG-MGF (Pegylated MGF) corpus

BWhole-population trends in obesity across dimensions of inequality in England, 2019-25: a retrospective, longitudinal cohort study of 54 million adults.The lancet. Diabetes & endocrinology · 2026 · 22 per 1000 person-years overall age- and sex-standardised incidence of first-recorded obesity, 95% CI 22-22.Human