Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 15 of 24Liraglutide literaturebiorxiv-preprint · Observational2026

Comparative Exposure-Adjusted Adverse Reaction Reporting Rates for GLP-1-Based Therapies: An Analysis of UK MHRA Yellow Card Data and NHS Prescribing Data for England

Liraglutide had an ADR reporting rate of 1,326.64 per million items, significantly lower than newer therapies like tirzepatide, which reported 27,511.52 per million items.

Read at biorxiv-preprintAdd to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the liraglutide corpus
6
Preclinical
11
Observational · this one
0
Open-label
2
Randomised
5
Reviews

Summary and findings

This study estimated exposure-adjusted adverse drug reaction (ADR) reporting rates for six GLP-1-based therapies, including liraglutide, using UK MHRA Yellow Card data and NHS prescribing data. The analysis covered 140,462 ADRs against 17,005,924 prescribed items from February 2021 to January 2026. Liraglutide had an ADR reporting rate of 1,326.64 per million items.

How much of this paper we could read: full text read (0.80). We had a clear abstract, so the summary below closely tracks the paper. What this means →
Liraglutide 1,326.64 (1,268.16–1,387.82) per million items.2026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as biorxiv-preprint supplied them

<h4>Background: </h4> /Objectives: Glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonists and the dual glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide/GLP-1 receptor agonist tirzepatide are increasingly prescribed for type 2 diabetes and obesity, but post-marketing comparisons usually rest on unadjusted report counts, which reflect prescribing volume as much as risk. We estimated exposure-adjusted adverse drug reaction (ADR) reporting rates for six GLP-1-based therapies. <h4>Methods:</h4> This retrospective observational pharmacovigilance study covered February 2021 to January 2026. Suspected ADRs reported UK-wide to the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) Yellow Card Scheme were divided by English National Health Service (NHS) general practice (GP) and hospital prescribing volumes, combined at medicine and time-period level; hospital quantities were converted to items using GP quantity-per-item ratios. Rates per million items were pooled in a generalised linear mixed model; temporal trends used Poisson regression with a log-exposure offset. Sensitivity analyses used GP-only and hospital-only denominators and re-fitted the temporal models on reports. <h4>Results:</h4> We analysed 140,462 UK Yellow Card ADRs against 17,005,924 English NHS prescribed items. The denominator omits private prescribing, which supplies most UK weight-management use, so these rates are differentially inflated, most for tirzepatide and semaglutide. Rates per million items varied more than 200-fold: tirzepatide 27,511.52 (95% confidence interval [CI] 27,339.39–27,684.73), semaglutide 5,905.83 (5,847.98–5,964.25), liraglutide 1,326.64 (1,268.16–1,387.82), exenatide 443.36, dulaglutide 256.42 and lixisenatide 129.68; heterogeneity was extreme (I² = 99.995%) and the ordering was unchanged under both sensitivity denominators. Rates rose for semaglutide (incidence rate ratio [IRR] 1.675, 1.657–1.693) and tirzepatide (IRR 1.139, 1.118–1.160) and fell for dulaglutide (IRR 0.810, 0.774–0.848); report-based models reproduced these trends. <h4>Conclusions:</h4> Exposure-adjusted reporting rates differ markedly across GLP-1-based therapies, the newest agents reporting most. These are reporting rates under an incomplete NHS denominator, not incidence estimates; differential exposure capture and reporting behaviour prevent interpretation as comparative medicine risk.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the Liraglutide corpus

DInflammatory mechanisms of pancreatic β-cell dysfunction and therapeutic strategies in type 2 diabetes mellitus: a narrative review.Journal of diabetes and metabolic disorders · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.reviewCEngineering 3'-UTR hairpin structures to modulate mRNA stability and recombinant protein production in Escherichia coli.Protein expression and purification · 2026 · n=6 · specific cellular fusion-protein content increased approximately 3-fold (p < 0.001, n=6)In vitroBEmerging Therapeutic Strategies for Infantile Obesity: A Narrative Reviewbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · n=4331 · 1.71 kg/m² BMI reduction with medication plus behavioral treatment vs behavioral treatment alone, n=4331.reviewBPrevention of new-onset chronic kidney disease with renin-angiotensin system blockers in type 2 diabetes with preserved kidney function.Renal failure · 2026 · n=4725 · HR 0.72; 95% CI 0.60-0.86 for new-onset CKD with ACEI/ARB therapy.HumanBSGLT2 inhibitors versus GLP-1 receptor agonists and risk of kidney replacement therapy and healthcare utilization in bipolar disorder with chronic kidney disease: An active-comparator, new-user cohort study.Journal of affective disorders · 2026 · n=5114 · aHR 0.87, 95% CI 0.71-1.06 for KRT risk in full cohort.HumanCImportance of antibody validation in detecting cell cycle regulatory protein p16 &lt;sup&gt;&lt;b&gt;INK4A&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/sup&gt; by immunohistochemistry on pancreas tissue.Islets · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.In vitro