Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub
Study 25 of 38Erythropoietin (EPO) literatureBMJ (Clinical research ed.)Top journal2026

Intravenous iron to treat anaemia before cardiac surgery (ITACS): international, double blind, placebo controlled randomised trial.

Not reported in abstract.

Read at BMJ (Clinical research ed.)Add to compare

Where it sits

this study against the rest of the erythropoietin (epo) corpus
6
Preclinical
25
Observational
1
Open-label · this one
2
Randomised
4
Reviews

Summary and findings

Not reported in abstract.

How much of this paper we could read: title only (0.10). The feed gave us little more than the title, so our summary is thin. This says nothing about the study's quality — read the source. What this means →
2026

Abstract

The authors’ words, as BMJ (Clinical research ed.) supplied them

<h4>Objective</h4>To evaluate the effects of intravenous iron on red cell transfusion and recovery after cardiac surgery.<h4>Design</h4>International, multicentre, double blind, placebo controlled randomised trial (ITACS).<h4>Setting</h4>33 hospitals across 10 countries. Participants were enrolled between July 2016 and December 2023.<h4>Participants</h4>955 adults with anaemia undergoing elective cardiac surgery. Exclusion criteria included haemoglobinopathy or iron storage disorder, renal dialysis, and erythropoietin or intravenous iron given in the previous four weeks.<h4>Intervention</h4>A computer generated program randomised participants to intravenous iron 1000 mg or placebo 1-26 weeks before surgery. Participants, clinicians, and data collectors were masked to the intervention.<h4>Main outcome measures</h4>The number of days alive and at home up to 90 days after surgery (primary outcome), red cell transfusion requirements and complications (secondary outcomes).<h4>Results</h4>Of 2993 screened participants, 955 were enrolled and 921 of the eligible 939 modified intention-to-treat participants were assessed for the primary outcome. The median number of days alive and at home up to 90 days after surgery was 81.1 (interquartile range 74.8-83.7) in patients assigned to intravenous iron and 80.0 (69.5-83.6) in those receiving placebo (adjusted median difference 1.0 day, 95.4% confidence interval 0.0 to 2.1 days, P=0.041). Red cell transfusions were given to 262 patients (61.1%) in the iron group and 302 (68.2%) in the placebo group during their hospital stay (relative risk 0.90, 95% confidence interval 0.82 to 0.99, P=0.027). No differences were observed for major complications or length of hospital stay.<h4>Conclusion</h4>Among patients with anaemia undergoing elective cardiac surgery, preoperative intravenous iron was associated with a reduction in red cell transfusion and a small improvement in the number of days alive and at home in the first 90 days after surgery. Intravenous iron is an effective component of patient blood management in this setting.<h4>Trial registration</h4>ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02632760.

Background

Not reported in abstract.

Methods

Not reported in abstract.

Results

Not reported in abstract.

Interpretation

Not reported in abstract.

Limitations

Not reported in abstract.

Elsewhere in the Erythropoietin (EPO) corpus

BBlood Free Carnitine Level is an Independent Determinant of Erythrocyte Membrane Homogeneity and Osmotic Resistance in Maintenance Hemodialysis Patientsbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Higher FC levels were associated with increased OFT slope a (β=0.6090, P=0.036).HumanBGenetic mimicry of haematopoietic growth factor signalling: efficacy–safety trade-offs for cytopenias by drug-target Mendelian randomisationbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · OR 0.65, 95% CI 0.49–0.86, P=0.0026 for lower thrombocytopenia risk with higher MPL expression.HumanCIn vivo HSPC gene therapy of hemoglobinopathies without drug selection of corrected cellsbiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · >70% HbF-positive erythroid cells in treated miceAnimalCEarly and late erythropoietin do not alter oxygen induced retinopathy severity in a rat model of anemiabiorxiv-preprint · 2026 · Not reported in abstract.AnimalDAuthor Correction: Erythropoietin receptor on cDC1s dictates immune tolerance.Nature · 2026—DPrevalence and risk of cardiovascular events among people living with HIV: a meta-analysis.Annals of medicine · 2026 · Pooled prevalence of cardiovascular events was 6% (95% CI: 0.05-0.07).review