Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub

Semaglutide record · updated 16h ago

Metabolic & appetiteSkin & aestheticsGrade A · human clinicalResearch use only
All 52 studiesJump to the evidenceCompare
What is Semaglutide used for?

Semaglutide is a synthetic analog of glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1), a hormone involved in glucose metabolism and appetite regulation. As a GLP-1 receptor agonist, semaglutide enhances insulin secretion in response to elevated blood glucose levels, suppresses glucagon secretion, and slows gastric emptying, leading to improved glycemic control. Additionally, it promotes satiety, contributing to weight loss, which has made it a focus of research for managing both type 2 diabetes and obesity.

How it works: GLP-1 receptor agonist

Primarily researched for · Metabolic & appetiteRoute · Subcutaneous injection (oral form also available)

Development stage

where Semaglutide sits between preclinical work and regulatory approval
  1. 1Cleared
    Preclinical
    Animal / in-vitro work
  2. 2Cleared
    Phase 1
    Safety in humans
  3. 3Cleared
    Phase 2
    Efficacy signal
  4. 4Cleared
    Phase 3
    Confirmatory trials
  5. 5Current
    Approved
    Cleared by a regulator

Stage is inferred from the highest trial phase in the indexed corpus and 106 registered trials. It describes the research record, not a recommendation.

Identity
NameSemaglutide
Chain length
Molecular weight4,114 Da
FormulaC187H291N45O59
Structure typeNot established
ClassMetabolic
Research levelFDA Approved
Discovered byAdded before provenance tracking · 2025

Mass and formula from PubChem CID 56843331. No verified residue count for this compound.

Pharmacology
MechanismGLP-1 receptor agonist
RouteSubcutaneous injection (oral form also available)
Half-life~7 days (≈165 h)
Time to peak1–3 days
DurationWeekly dosing
Extraction confidence0.95
Effect profile · 0–5
These seven scores are generated by the Librarian — an autonomous agent running GPT-4o over the indexed studies, trials and label data for this compound. No human assigns them and no community vote moves them. Last recomputed Aug 28, 2026. How this works →
Research stats
Total studies52
Human / animal / cellular26 / 3 / 1
Highest trial phasePhase 3
Years covered2010–2026
Latest study5d ago
Publication history
20102026
Research funding
197 NIH projects · $36.1M awarded · through FY2026
Public grants naming this compound. Funding is interest, not evidence.
Safety signals
FAERS reports6,296
Serious AEs in animal work
Community reports
Positive Neutral Negative
Records

Study register

52 rows · newest 12 shownOpen in the library →
StudyTypeYearSummary depth
Oral Health Outcomes with GLP1 Receptor Agonists Compared with Other Metabolic Interventions
Finding8.69% of GLP-1 users developed at least one newly documented oral-health condition.
Human2026Full text read0.80
Oral Semaglutide Preserves Islet of Langerhans Structure and Cellular Integrity in a Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus Rat Model: Histological, Immunohistochemical, and Biochemical Study
FindingP < 0.05 for islet size, β-cell mass, and insulin immunoreactivity.
Animal2026Full text read0.70
Biomarker-Defined Phenotyping Reveals Patient Heterogeneity Not Captured by a Single Physiological Reserve Score
FindingKMO = 0.485
Human2026Full text read0.80
Substance-Level Disproportionate Reporting of Impaired Gastric Emptying for Five Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 Receptor Agonists: A Reproducible Signal-Detection Analysis of the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System
FindingPRR 88.7, 95% CI 85.1–92.4; 3,052 of 82,911 reports
review2026Full text read0.80
Class-Wide Disproportionate Reporting of Impaired Gastric Emptying Across Nine Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 Receptor Agonist Products: A Signal-Detection Analysis of the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System
FindingOzempic PRR 109.1; Rybelsus 66.4
review2026Full text read0.90
Weight Regain During Continued Incretin Therapy Is Associated With an Inflammatory Signature at Weight Nadir and Higher Cardiovascular Event Rates
Finding12.9 vs 9.6 per 1,000 person-years for nonfatal MACE during regained time vs maintained-loss time, adjusted RR: 1.43 (95% CI 1.22–1.67).
Human2026Full text read0.80
Rarely reported cases of hepatotoxicity associated with turmeric- and curcuminoid-containing dietary supplements: a comprehensive review by USP.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
review2026Full text read0.70
Hunger pain and its reduction; qualitative insight from people with schizophrenia on semaglutide.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Human2026Full text read0.70
Daily briefing: Narcolepsy drug could kick off an Ozempic-style moment for the brain.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
2026Title only0.10
Doctor who prescribed Ozempic and Wegovy to her partner has suspension extended.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
2026Title only0.10
Once-weekly IcoSema versus once-daily insulin glargine U100 in type 2 diabetes management (COMBINE 4): an open-label, multicentre, treat-to-target, randomised, phase 3b trial.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
Human2026Title only0.10
Semaglutide treatment fails but might prevent Alzheimer's disease.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
2026Title only0.10

What people are saying

anecdotal · not evidence

Unverified first-hand accounts from public forums. These are not studies: nobody checked what was taken, whether it was what the label said, or what else was going on. They count for nothing in the evidence grade above and are shown because a reader searching Semaglutide will meet them anyway, and meeting them next to a graded evidence base is better than meeting them alone.

Community collection has not run yet, so this is an empty shelf rather than a quiet one — nothing has been read, and no conclusion about how much Semaglutide is discussed should be drawn from it.