Peptides DB
Research-centric peptide and protocol reference hub

Matrixyl record · updated 17h ago

Skin & aestheticsHealing & recoveryGrade A · human clinicalResearch use only
All 17 studiesJump to the evidenceCompare
What is Matrixyl used for?

Matrixyl, a peptide known for its potential skin-rejuvenating properties, is often incorporated into cosmetic formulations aimed at reducing the appearance of wrinkles and improving skin texture. Research continues to explore its mechanisms of action and effectiveness in various applications, particularly in dermal health and aesthetics.

How it works: Stimulates collagen synthesis and modulates extracellular matrix components

Primarily researched for · Skin & aestheticsRoute · Topical application

Development stage

where Matrixyl sits between preclinical work and regulatory approval
  1. 1Cleared
    Preclinical
    Animal / in-vitro work
  2. 2Cleared
    Phase 1
    Safety in humans
  3. 3Cleared
    Phase 2
    Efficacy signal
  4. 4Cleared
    Phase 3
    Confirmatory trials
  5. 5Current
    Approved
    Cleared by a regulator

Stage is inferred from the highest trial phase in the indexed corpus and 36 registered trials. It describes the research record, not a recommendation.

Identity
NameMatrixyl
Chain length
Molecular weight802.1 Da
FormulaC39H75N7O10
Structure typeNot established
ClassAesthetic
Research levelWell Studied
Discovered byAdded before provenance tracking · 2025

Mass and formula from PubChem CID 9897237. No verified residue count for this compound.

Pharmacology
MechanismStimulates collagen synthesis and modulates extracellular matrix components
RouteTopical application
Half-life
Time to peak
Duration
Extraction confidence0.80
Effect profile · 0–5
These seven scores are generated by the Librarian — an autonomous agent running GPT-4o over the indexed studies, trials and label data for this compound. No human assigns them and no community vote moves them. Last recomputed Aug 31, 2026. How this works →
Research stats
Total studies17
Human / animal / cellular3 / 3 / 6
Highest trial phasePhase 4
Years covered2010–2026
Latest study17h ago
Publication history
20102026
Research funding
no NIH grants found
Safety signals
FAERS reports12
Serious AEs in animal work
Community reports
Positive Neutral Negative
Records

Study register

17 rows · newest 12 shownOpen in the library →
StudyTypeYearSummary depth
Length-encoded phase transitions in proline-alanine-serine peptides: from nanoaggregates to condensates.
FindingCondensates increase in droplet size from approximately 1 μm to 5 μm.
In vitro2026Full text read0.70
Baseline gut microbiome ecology predicts long-term fat mass loss after bariatric surgery: evidence for a thrifty <i>Bifidobacterium</i> phenotype.
FindingPatients in the highest quartile of baseline Bifidobacterium spp. lost 6.6% fat mass at 24 months compared to 13.2% in the lowest quartile, p=0.010.
Human2026Full text read0.80
A liposome-hydrogel composite ameliorates UVB-induced mouse skin photoaging through integrated antioxidant and extracellular matrix remodeling pathways.
Finding2.7-fold enhancement in transdermal permeation.
Animal2026Full text read0.70
System reconstruction of <i>Bacillus licheniformis</i> for efficient expression of alkaline protease.
Finding34,343 U/mL enzyme activity in strain DM6E10.
In vitro2021Full text read0.70
Eu<sup>3+</sup>-induced clusterization of non-emissive cysteine into bright green assemblies.
Finding56-fold increase in quantum yield (14%) relative to Eu<sup>3+</sup> alone.
In vitro2026Full text read0.70
Unravelling metabolites conferring intestinal protection in asymptomatic first-degree relatives of patients with celiac disease.
FindingNot reported in abstract.
Human2026Full text read0.80
Palmitoylation modulates neutrophil anti-tumour function in liver metastasis.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
2026Title only0.10
Structure and mechanism of the human bile acid transporter OSTα-OSTβ.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
2026Title only0.10
Structures of Ostα/β reveal a unique fold and bile acid transport mechanism.
TakeawayNot reported in abstract.
2026Title only0.10
Ethnopharmacological validation of the antinociceptive potential of Calotropis gigantea L. flowers: Phytochemical characterization, safety evaluation, and mechanistic insights from in vivo models.
FindingIC50 value of 145.77 ± 4.30 μg/mL for DPPH free radical scavenging activity.
Animal2026Full text read0.70
Multi-omic modelling of body mass index response to a dietary weight loss intervention.
FindingR2m = 52.9-59.3% for BMI change prediction using metabolomic risk scores.
Human2026Full text read0.80
Oral and topical peptides for skin aging: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
FindingMD = 0.27 for wrinkle reduction, p=0.04.
review2026Full text read0.80

What people are saying

anecdotal · not evidence

Unverified first-hand accounts from public forums. These are not studies: nobody checked what was taken, whether it was what the label said, or what else was going on. They count for nothing in the evidence grade above and are shown because a reader searching Matrixyl will meet them anyway, and meeting them next to a graded evidence base is better than meeting them alone.

Community collection has not run yet, so this is an empty shelf rather than a quiet one — nothing has been read, and no conclusion about how much Matrixyl is discussed should be drawn from it.